So how does on get a chance to shadow?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Mr.E

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here.

I've tried to call several dentist around my area to see if they would allow me to shadow them an evening or two a week. So far, all the dentists I've contacted have denied my request, claiming that it would be bad for business as most patients would be uncomfortable with the experience. I am begining to feel that no dentist is willing to help out. Has anyone experienced something similar to this? What did you do?

Members don't see this ad.

Mr.E said:
Hello everyone,

This is my first time posting here.

I've tried to call several dentist around my area to see if they would allow me to shadow them an evening or two a week. So far, all the dentists I've contacted have denied my request, claiming that it would be bad for business as most patients would be uncomfortable with the experience. I am begining to feel that no dentist is willing to help out. Has anyone experienced something similar to this? What did you do?

Yeah this sucks and personally i would always try my best to accomodate a student in need if i was a dentist. The best approach here is networking. You have 2 options.

1) Go to your dentist and if he/she rufuses stop going to them
2) Network through friends/realtives (likely someone or a relative knows a dentist) --This worked for me
3) Keep trying

Good Luck!