SMP, retakes or Caribbean? Please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

The_Cleaner

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, so here's my situation in my early undergraduate I made some mistakes in general class's because I was facing some personal issues. So after that was dealt with I felt like was behind and needed to cram my classes to finish on time. I graduated with a cGPA of 2.90 and a sGPA of 3.5. I rushed the Mcat with about a month of studying time following graduation and got a 500. My advisor said I would not have a great chance if I applied, and I agreed so I did not apply. I applied to, and was accepted to the Geisinger Commonwealth's masters of medical science. However the the price is so high that I'm not sure if it's worth it. Retakes would be cheaper and easier, but do they really even prove or help that much? Then there's always the option of a Caribbean school which is my last option. I'm just not sure what to do and any advice would be a big help. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Harshness Alert!!!

Slow down! Your impulsivity is killing you...and will give adcoms the impression that you're immature. You keep making the same mistake of hurrying.

Cramming classes to finish on time got you what??? A crappy GPA, so in what world was that a good idea?

Rushing to take the MCAT when it should have been obvious that you'd end up with a lowish score. What possessed you to think that you were ready to take the MCAT?

You're not thinking straight. You knew you had a low GPA, yet you rushed to take the MCAT in hopes of applying this cycle? Please come down to planet earth.

Would you be borrowing for that masters program? If so, how much? How much debt to you already have? Does it have some sort of agreement with a med school for interviews, etc?

Do you have a good state school near your home where you can create your own postbacc?

Step away from the Caribbean.