Significance of NBME score????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

radiologygirl

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have 3 1/2 weeks until my exam
just took the NBME today and got a 194 .....this is my first time doing this, did not use it for step one so I dont know how realiable the damn thing is

this has rattled me up just a tad coz I did better on my step 1 (235) and want to do a hell of a lot better on step 2

What should I be doing that can help me improve this score??

Members don't see this ad.

radiologygirl said:
So I have 3 1/2 weeks until my exam
just took the NBME today and got a 194 .....this is my first time doing this, did not use it for step one so I dont know how realiable the damn thing is

this has rattled me up just a tad coz I did better on my step 1 (235) and want to do a hell of a lot better on step 2

What should I be doing that can help me improve this score??

I have heard that the step 2 NBMEs are less accurate than the step 1 NBMEs.

NMBE is very variable. The exams were put together to give some kind of measurement, but in the disclaimer, it says don't use it to predict your score, although everyone does.

That said, you are taking them with plenty of time. For more info, and my personal study schedule, go to the NMBE vs USMLE score thread.

Here is how I did:
7 days before Step 2: NMBE 1: 222
5 days: NMBE 2: 220
3 days: NMBE 3: 247
Step 2: 241

In the mentioned thread however, you will see people reporting widely variable results with NMBE scores of 260 and USMLE scores of 220 and vice versa.