Sickle Trait info for ED physicians?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GeneralVeers

Socially Distanced
Removed
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm an ED physician in Nevada. At my place of practice we have a ton of "sickle crisis" patients who seem to get admitted almost weekly for tons of IV narcotics and a vacation from life. While I'd like to help out the true homozygous sickle disease patients, I want to weed out the sickle trait people who are likely abusing the system.

I've started sending Protein S electrophoresis on these patients, in the hope that there will be evidence as to whether or not they are truly sickle disease to help treat them appropriately on their inevitable next visit. The last two patients had Hemoglobin S fractions of 32 and 41 respectively. My understanding is that sickle trait usually has Hemoglobin S levels of < 45 and full Sickle Disease is around 98.

I just wanted some additional help with this issue, so any guidance is appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm an ED physician in Nevada. At my place of practice we have a ton of "sickle crisis" patients who seem to get admitted almost weekly for tons of IV narcotics and a vacation from life. While I'd like to help out the true homozygous sickle disease patients, I want to weed out the sickle trait people who are likely abusing the system.

I've started sending Protein S electrophoresis on these patients, in the hope that there will be evidence as to whether or not they are truly sickle disease to help treat them appropriately on their inevitable next visit. The last two patients had Hemoglobin S fractions of 32 and 41 respectively. My understanding is that sickle trait usually has Hemoglobin S levels of < 45 and full Sickle Disease is around 98.

I just wanted some additional help with this issue, so any guidance is appreciated.