Should you be taking about 4~ hours reading 1 Kaplan chapter?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

la flame

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Just started prepping last week and I've noticed for my Biology book, it's been taking me forever to get through each chapter. I admit, I am pretty weak in Biology especially body systems since my Biology 2 course dove into Ecology/Ecosystems instead of the human body. For example, I just did the Endocrine system and took me nearly 4.5 hours to get a solid grasp. All I did was power through the chapter and google information that didn't make sense and wrote down notes to help me remember mistakes.

But when I do Gen chem/Ochem studying, those chapters are a breeze since my chemistry background is pretty solid ( Made an A in every Chem series and I am a Gen CHem tutor).

Does Content review really depend on how much you retained from your prereqs? Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

yes, it looks like you'll need extra work for BB.

if Kaplan works for you, great, but it sounds like it's not, and I don't think passive reading for 4-5 hours is an effective use of time unless you are truly being exposed to it for the first time. Even then, I'd recommend slowly integrating some passage-related questions to help your retention and to apply what you learned.

I'd start off by creating an excel spreadsheet of all the BB topics, track weaknesses, hone in on weak topics by answering BB passages, and then monitor improvement. BB is a huge section so a lot of organization will go a long way.

good luck!

Reactions: 1 users