Should we buy a house during medical residency & dental school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

27Txgirl18

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, nontraditional student here. I'm 31, married, have 1 dog and plan to have children during dental school. My husband is an MD/PhD student and receives a stipend for school that is enough for us to live off of. I work as a dental assistant and have been saving most of my money and turning some of it around for profit in crypto. Neither of us have debt. We've been incredibly fortunate to be save up around 75k(liquid as of recently). I've grown up poor and never lived in a place that I'd proudly invite friends over for. I'd like to have a space of my own, that is inviting where I can bring people together to eat and study, but also large enough to keep my abundant craft things out of sight, and eventually enough room for any additions to our family. I'm in my 30s and feel like I'm ready to start living like a normal social person and not a closeted poor college student with too many hobbies and stuff that goes with it and the shame of subjecting people I want to spend time with, to a cluttered space like that. I'll be starting dental school out of state next year and my husband will join me for residency a year after that. So for one year, I will use loans for the mortgage and then when my husband joins me, we'll use the stipend/residency money to cover mortgage--. We're thinking about a house/townhouse between 150-220K. Is this a bad idea?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Is it a guarantee that your husband will join you? How sure are you guys that he will match at a program close to your dental school?

How do you feel about renting a house? Typically, buying a house/apartment makes sense if you plan to live there for 5 years or longer.

Reactions: 1 user