Should i work towards a second minor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lindseywlkr711

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a second year premed student majoring in biomedical sciences and have a minor in pysch. I am thinking about minoring in chemistry but is it worth it? Do med schools even look at minors? If i were to take up this second minor i would not be able to finish a semester early. My goal is to go to georgetown for med school! Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

A chem minor does not matter. They’re already making you take a ton of chem to apply. At many schools you pretty much automatically get a chem minor if you finish your premed requirements so I just don’t think this will add anything to your app unless you really want to take whatever classes to finish the minor

Reactions: 1 users
Also not spending tuition on an extra semester could come in handy when it comes to paying for med school

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Also not spending tuition on an extra semester could come in handy when it comes to paying for med school
Thank you! I was on the fence but if it doesnt matter much ill focus my energy on other things :)

I was in a similar predicament, I only needed one additional class to get a chem minor. I ended up deciding against it. I already had way too many credits and I ended up getting into medical school without doing so!

I am a second year premed student majoring in biomedical sciences and have a minor in pysch. I am thinking about minoring in chemistry but is it worth it? Do med schools even look at minors? If i were to take up this second minor i would not be able to finish a semester early. My goal is to go to georgetown for med school! Thanks