Should I take post-bacc classes? Or should I get a second B.S. or try to get into a MS program?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted793295

Hey all,

I'd like to consider myself a non-traditional student. I recently graduated from a top 50 University with a degree in Biomedical Engineering. Unfortunately, I didn't do too well, which can be attributed to the severe depression I was dealing with, in addition to not wanting to do Biomedical Engineering. I ended up doing the degree due to pressure from my mother who insisted that med school was the wrong option for me and that I wouldn't make it. She insisted that since she paid my tuition, I had to do that degree.

I graduated with a cGPA of 2.313. I used an excel sheet that I had found called the AMCASGPA_Calculator by Johnny E to see what my cGPA was according to that (2.391) and what my BCPM GPA was (2.327). It also said that the cGPA all other AMCAS GPA was 2.439.

While I was at my University, I worked for a brief period of time at an Intervention Center for children who came from broken homes, and did research for a time period of 2 years in the neurosensory lab, working with AEP's.

Once I graduated, I moved out of my house and took a year to heal and that is when it struck me that I really did want to do Med School and since then, I have been trying to rectify this situation and make myself a good applicant.

I am planning on taking the MCAT and am hoping to get a score above 515 (at the very least.)