Should I take a gap year?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dawibo

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am currently a sophomore, and am planning to apply for 2024 matriculation, meaning I would not take a gap year. I don't currently have any clinical experience, however I will soon start volunteering in a hospice, and I plan on spending this summer volunteering in a hospital and shadowing to gain clinical experience. I go to school in a different state, so continuous clinical experience is very tough to come by. My school also highly recommends taking a gap year, and only like 2 people applied straight through this cycle. I want to know if I should plan on taking a gap year, or if my current path will get me enough hours to apply without a gap year. Here is some more information about me:

3.98 GPA (4.0 sGPA) at top liberal arts school

Neuroscience major

Ohio resident

Research in a physical chemistry lab, have a poster and a publication (~600 hours)

VP of Bioethics Society (~75 hours)

Volunteer working with local developmentally disabled adults (~50 hours)

Peer tutor in chemistry (just started, ~15 hours)

Ultimate frisbee player (~500 hours)

Also play disc golf and chess as hobbies if that matters.

I can get 50+ shadowing hours with a neurosurgeon this summer, and I am applying to hospitals for volunteering (clinical job search isn't going well because they require a long commitment). Does anyone have recommendations for how I can get more clinical experience, or thoughts on whether I should plan on taking a gap year?

Members don't see this ad.

Also, how many clinical hours would you recommend aiming for to apply straight through?

Thread moved to appropriate forums.