Dental Should I submit application with early deadline?

Status
Not open for further replies.

artist2022

DDS 🦷🎓✔
Administrator
Volunteer Staff
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
i am a texas resident planning to apply this 2021-2022 cycle (first time) and i'm concerned about what is considered early submission. i have over 1000 hours in shadowing, but thats only with direct family, and then i have only about 40-50 hours shadowing a general dentist not related to me (but unfortunately has the same last name, so i will have to ask them to mention their lack of blood relation in their rec letter...). anyways i feel the need to add more shadowing in specialty areas, maybe about 20 if I'm lucky.

i was planning to submit mid to late july, but i know this cycle has more applicants than usual, so i'm concerned it will affect me badly.
I would shadow in june because i have funeral affairs to attend in another state, and i will still have to wait for a committe rec letter anyways in june (gave indiv writers a deadline of mid june, and then further waiting for the committee to write it).

is july too late for this cycle? should i forgo adding more shadowing? is my shadowing even an issue?

general stats i have is DAT aa 25/ pat 24 / ts 24 , gpa is 3.96 and sgpa is 3.98. volunteering over 100 hrs. two major leadership positions in predental club (undergrad school has strong relations with tamcod). i am applying to all texas schools and a couple cali, possibly one more out of state school.