Should I still try to go to med school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

R0x0r Mc0wnage

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm 25 years old and at a major crossroad. My top career choice has always been medicine, but I have allowed myself to get so badly derailed that it may no longer be realistic. My story is that I graduated from high school a year late (then having nothing in the way of ambition) and then spent three years in community college while working to support myself. I finally started at university when I was 23, but dropped out during my first semester when everything went to ****, and what followed that was the worst two years of my life. Family, finances, health, jail; everything that could have gone wrong, did. Now, at 25, all of those personal problems are finally resolved, and I'm legitimately capable of proceeding with life. The problem being that I'm now as old as dirt, still have 2-3 years left of undergrad if I expect to get into med school, and will be damned near 40 by the time I finished residency. All of which of course means that I will spend the rest of my young adulthood broke as f***. Does it even make sense to pursue medicine at this point, or should I accept that I've missed the bus on that and settle for a lesser career?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
"old as dirt" :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:

Oh honey. Age is not on the top 10 list of things you need to worry about.

Go get a bachelors degree in something that interests you, and get REALLY REALLY good grades. There's no getting around this first objective.

Best of luck to you.