Should I retake MCAT (505)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SeaWeeds

Reaction score
I am new to SDN, I wasn't sure if this is the correct place to post. But, I needed some advice regarding mcat score retake. I unfortunately didn't do so well on my first mcat which I took the summer of my senior year 502 (125/123/127/127). It was a combo of weak topics and a lot of stress from home/being sick. I decided to not apply for that cycle and wait until the 2023-2024 cycle to apply. I did again get very ill and required some hospitalization in the end of 2022. However, I still pushed and studied few hours every day for nearly 3-4 months and retook the exam in march. My major focus was CP and BB. I did do plenty cars practice but it was fluctuating. English is not my first language (immigrant at 14). I ended up scoring 505 (128/124/129/124). The PS score was an absolute shock. I didn't review my FLs first time around, and i was scoring 128-130 on all my aamc practice exams retakes (which i was hoping to be accurate as I didn't remember questions at all) including FL5 which I didn't take before (scored 510 128/124/130/128). So my 2nd retake was very alarming. If it would help at all my FLs avg was about 512. My second retake was the average of my FL avg subsections except for PS.

1. What are your previous MCAT Score(s) (with section wise breakdown): 502 (125/123/127/127), 505 (128/124/129/124).
  2. What is your GPA (w/ Science GPA) (If relevant: trend, uGPA/grad GPA/postbacc GPA): Science major. GPA is 3.91 and science GPA 3.94 (I was ill last few semesters and things were getting difficult to keep up, so I ended up with B and A- in some non science classes).
  3. State/Country of residence (optional):
  4. Ethnicity (ORM/URM?): Middle eastern idk where that falls under
  5. Goal Med school (Tier/goal): Not very specific, but hoping for state school at least. Obviously not an option with my score.