Should I reapply this cycle or wait?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrJurassic

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I applied to only MD schools this past cycle. I'm still on the waitlist (top 1/3) for one school, but I know my chances of getting off now are slim. One of the biggest mistakes I made was applying late (some in early August, others in September through November). I also don't have anything that stands out on my application (just standard shadowing, volunteering, research, etc.) so that might have been another factor. I was originally planning on waiting until next year (2018-2019 cycle) to apply again to both MD and DO programs, but I'm worried that having three gap years (I graduated in 2016) will hurt my chances of getting in. Is it better to just wait until the 2018-2019 cycle so I can strengthen my application (get more volunteer experience, work as a CNA) or apply this cycle to DO schools only? My gap year wasn't very medically-inclined (I traveled abroad, volunteered at a tutoring program for elementary school students throughout the school year, worked in retail for a few months, did some shadowing, studied IT and am now applying for a programmer job) so I'm worried that this might reflect badly on my commitment to medicine.

My stats are: cgpa 3.74, sgpa 3.73, mcat: 514 (took it three times)

Members don't see this ad.

state of residence: VA

school list:
-EVMS
-UVA
-VCU
-Drexel
-GW
-Quinnipiac
-Chicago Medical (Rosalind)
-Georgetown
-Tulane
-NYMC

I sent primaries to some other schools (Duke, USC, Brown) but I never submitted my secondary to them because I was applying so late and knew my chances were low.

Thank you for your help!

Members don't see this ad :)