Psychology Should I pursue I/O or Clincial Psychology?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Smile12

Admissions advisor
Staff member
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I’m a 38 year old who has spent many years in a specific industry (dance business) and want to switch fields to pursue a career in psychology. I am most interested in psychology within the workplace, including working with professionals in specific fields such as first responders, athletes or dancers, and others. Ultimately, I’d love to pursue a doctorate, but don’t have the money to spend 4-6 years in school before I start working in the field. I’m considering a Master’s in I/O psychology, but had the following questions:
- Are there enough jobs available near Boston to be able to make a good salary soon after my degree? I have some business advising experience
- Is I/O psychology a field that might pave the way for a Doctorate in clinical psychology, (not psychiatry) or will I have to spend more time filling in classes that would have been completed with a Masters in clinical psychology?
Any advice on the education path for this type of career is appreciated!

Best, Michelle
On my due diligence, I want to be sure you knew about this reference: Psychologist

I'm not sure who you could turn to regarding jobs in a certain location, though I would suspect Boston would be saturated. When you contact schools you are interested, make sure they answer your questions about job placement and career preparation. They should be able to tell you where their graduates went for jobs soon after their studies.

Members don't see this ad.