Should I pursue a residency?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MutterButter

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am an incoming 3rd year vet student with an overwhelming love for Veterinary Nutrition. I just came back from a conference that got me even more fired up about nutrition, and I would love to make it my career. I am tempted to pursue a residency to get boarded in nutrition.... BUT-

The problem is that I have three things making me hesitate:
1. My current GPA (under 3.0)
2. My long-term boyfriend (future husband until proven otherwise) would have to have a long-distance relationship with me for at least a few years
3. I don't live for school

I really want to work in veterinary nutrition and for people to take me seriously when it comes to nutrition - I am currently an industry representative at my school for a pet food company. I just worry that I am eliminating the potential path towards getting boarded in nutrition because of my current academic/relationship status.

Does anyone have some insight to help with this situation?

Members don't see this ad.

I just worry that I am eliminating the potential path towards getting boarded in nutrition because of my current academic/relationship status.
Or......you're risking the health of your relationship and your own mental health by pursuing a residency to get Boarded.

I don't know what you should choose, and your desire for a residency seems to be coming from the right place (i.e. for a love of the subject, not simply because it's somehow better than being a GP). But it might be a strain on your mental health to be so deeply in depth in studies if you have very little down time, and might put a strain on your relationship to be so long separated from your boyfriend.

Reactions: 1 user
Or......you're risking the health of your relationship and your own mental health by pursuing a residency to get Boarded.