Should I mention that I want to practice in another country on my apps?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

canarywing

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
As background, I am a first-gen student that is preparing to apply to medical schools. My parents immigrated to the US from a 3rd-world country. My entire desire to pursue medical school and become a doctor is based on my dream to return to my home country and serve my community there. This is something I have wanted for many years and it has shaped my entire academic career from high school through college. In addition to more typical premed extracurriculars, I have also dedicated a lot of time and energy to serving my particular community both in the US and back home. It is a big part of who I am and it is difficult to talk about why I want to be a doctor without talking about this.

My question is -- is it wise to be upfront about this? Do med schools care about where I want to practice? Would I be disadvantaged by being upfront about wanting to serve non-American communities? Should I downplay it and make it seem as if my long-term goals are in the US?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm very confused! Doesn't your home country have medical schools?

US MD schools are ridiculously expensive and notoriously difficult to get into. The payback for all that effort is the ability to earn US wages after training. If you don't want to do that, going to the effort and expense of training in the US seems like a waste.

Beyond that, your question is very niche, so I will leave the answer up the the experts, but I don't think telling adcoms that you expect to take your training and use it overseas is going to help an applicant when the goal of US programs is to train US physicians, given the vast number of under served communities in the US.

Reactions: 2 users
I'm very confused! Doesn't your home country have medical schools?