Should I Get a Masters? Backup Plans

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Je Suis Banane

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Canadian undergrad student currently studying for the MCAT (TPR most recent score 510) which I will be writing in August and a fairly decent GPA (around 3.95).

My parents are a little on my case about having a backup plan in case **** hits the proverbial fan... They seem to think that having a masters degree would improve my odds at getting into med school (even if it's a 1 year thing).

My opinion is a bit different. I feel like I have decently competitive grades and since I do some interesting extracirrics (ski patrol, a little published research etc.) I'm thinking I have a good shot at getting in this year. My personal backup plan would be to take a year off school, work in my lab turning out 3 or 4 good papers (the research is on cures for neuromuscular diseases and results are promising), take the MCAT again and reapply the next year.

What do you guys think is the better option? I feel like there's definitely people in my predicament as well. Are there other options I could consider?

Members don't see this ad.

do whatever makes you more competitive in the job market aside from med school, but still looks good on apps

and seriously, so tired of these parents with opinions on how best to get into med school, unless they are docs themselves or have med adcom experience, the SDN hivemind and IRL doc mentors and the ilk are waaaaaaay better

so tired of these parents with opinions on how best to get into med school, unless they are docs themselves

Thanks for the help :)