Status
Not open for further replies.

GoSpursGo

SDN Chief Administrator
Staff member
Administrator
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, I hope you are all doing amazing. I had a question that is more personal that I couldn't find an answer for. Because of covid, my college is allowing us to drop classes without having a W on record. I am a freshman in my second semester and I'm on track to get B in gen chem 2 with A's in the rest of my classes. I know if I retook the class over the summer I could get at least an A- if not an A. I have 3 options

1: Take the B and not retake the class
2: Take the B and retake the class over the summer for grade replacement
3: Drop the class and take the class over the summer

What are your thoughts? I am not sure how doing option 3 would look as it would make me have 11 credit hours on my transcript instead of 15. It would also show that instead of doing gen chem 2 in spring I skipped it to take it in summer. Thank you for all the good work you guys do!
Odds are you're not going to wind up getting a 4.0 as your final GPA. Those are simply rare. So, whether it is truly worth your time and money to re-take a course is up to you. If I were you, with just a couple of weeks left, I would just take the B and move on with your life.

To answer the rest of your question, if you did decide to drop the course, absolutely nobody is going to look at your transcript in granular enough detail to notice you took 11 credits one semester or that you "delayed" chem 2. But one minor point--just make sure that 11 credits counts as a "full courseload" at your college and that withdrawing wouldn't affect your financial aid.

Members don't see this ad.