This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Professional_Student

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All-

Thank you in advance for the responses! I graduated in May with my bachelors in biology and minor in chemistry. My overall GPA is a 2.9 with retakes calculated in (3.1 with retake grade replacement). I have two options to increase my chances of getting into dental school... do an anatomy master's program (which I am currently enrolled in) or simply take more science classes and not be confined to what I take each term. Even though I wouldn't be taking as many courses in the master's program, does it look better when applying to dental school? Or at this point, should my concern be to take as many classes as possible and get as many As as I can?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

First of all, there is no grade replacement so approach your situation with a 2.9. Next, even if you complete let's say 2 years of courses with nothing but A's you'll only realistically increase your gpa by .2 points (to a 3.1). Also, be aware that some schools will reject you automatically if you have a sub 3.0 GPA so it may be better for you to raise that GPA if a school you are interested in has that rule.

Outside of that, I'll wait for others to chime in on your master's vs. taking more courses question. Best of luck!

Reactions: 1 user
First of all, there is no grade replacement so approach your situation with a 2.9. Next, even if you complete let's say 2 years of courses with nothing but A's you'll only realistically increase your gpa by .2 points (to a 3.1). Also, be aware that some schools will reject you automatically if you have a sub 3.0 GPA so it may be better for you to raise that GPA if a school you are interested in has that rule.

Outside of that, I'll wait for others to chime in on your master's vs. taking more courses question. Best of luck!