should i change my major to nursing?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinkjuicebox

Reaction score
hi just need some advice on what i should do, i am a sophomore pre-med bio major and i realized biology is not a fitting major for me. I've wanted to be a doctor since I was maybe 5 but nursing is a major that is really interesting to me and I know it's best to major in something YOU will enjoy. I was thinking about switching to nursing since i am halfway done with my pre-reqs and just finish them and apply to medical school or take a gap year and work as a nurse, shadow more etc.Is this a good plan or should i stick to a different major like biology or psychology?

Members don't see this ad.

Well I think the decision lies in whether you want to be a nurse or you want to be a doctor. Both are medical careers with people who love their job and people who hate their job, but obviously differ in many ways. Choosing a nursing major to look good for medical school is not a great idea because most med schools will assume you want to be a nurse and not a doctor.

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Well I think the decision lies in whether you want to be a nurse or you want to be a doctor. Both are medical careers with people who love their job and people who hate their job, but obviously differ in many ways. Choosing a nursing major to look good for medical school is not a great idea because most med schools will assume you want to be a nurse and not a doctor.
I wouldn't agree with this. I think applying to medical school is, itself, a sign that you want to be a doctor after training as a nurse.

It's a major that will give some strong additional clinical experience, that could be useful if the OP is interested, and would have a direct path for well paid clinical experience after graduation if they don't want to directly apply to medical school.

• Dislike
Reactions: 3 users