Should i apply for this cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

yongli

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Here are my stats: cgpa: 3.26, sgpa: 3
I'm an international student, studying my undergrad in biology here and graduating in 3 weeks.
Since it's hard to foreign students to get into med school, I applied to pharmacy school and I already got accepted for fall. but i don't wanna regret that i never even tried to apply to med school.
My EC are on the lower side. Right now, i'm shadowing a physician.
I plan is to take MCAT in August and submit my application in late August. I'm pretty sure i wont get in this application cycle. I just think i should apply this year so I can learn from my mistakes and do better.
So here's my options:
I can take some more classes and improve my gpa a bit. not sure it would make a big difference tho.
Or I could take classes and be an EMT and do some volunteering during the gap year.
I really want to get into med school by 2017-2018 application cycle.
What should i do during this gap year?
Since my gpa is low, should i get into masters program?
Even if i get the masters, there's no guarantee that i would get accepted into med school.
I honestly don't know what is the best way to enhance my application.
Any help is appreciated.
Thanks, guys!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Here are my stats: cgpa: 3.26, sgpa: 3
I'm an international student, studying my undergrad in biology here and graduating in 3 weeks.
Since it's hard to foreign students to get into med school, I applied to pharmacy school and I already got accepted for fall. but i don't wanna regret that i never even tried to apply to med school.
My EC are on the lower side. Right now, i'm shadowing a physician.