Should I add more schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fritz

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Maybe this is a totally stupid questions but here it is .
I applied to 22 schools, 2 rejections so far, 2 interviews. I'm 32Q nontradition 3.8 gpa. Should I add more schools at this point? I am a California resident too which is not that great.
Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Fritz-

My situation is almost exactly the same as yours. Cali resident, 32R, 3.7 GPA, non traditional. I applied to 26 schools, have completed 19 secondaries and am expecting at least one more, and so far have 3 pre-secondary rejections and 1 interview. I know some of us here in this chock-full-of-premeds state have applied to 40 or 50 schools, but my advice is to stick with the number you have now. That's what I plan to do. I'm thinking that my app may not be blowing the adcoms away at the outset (which I assume is the case with people who have 5+ interviews already), but that my stats are solid enough that I should be offered more interviews as we get further into the season, and I think it'll be the same for you. Plus applying to tons of schools requires such a lot of $$$. You don't get a very good return on investment.

Actually $$ was the reason why I did not add more schools.
But if you don't mind me asking, what schools did you apply that are non California, and are more likely to accept non traditional, and are more within our reach with the MCAT and gpa averages?
Thanks.

Members don't see this ad :)
fritz,
i think you are good as long as you chose your schools wisely. there is no need to apply to more than 20 or 25 schools unless they aren't suitable/within your reach.

I sent out nearly 40 secondaries, from CA, non trad, 3.1 35 with a masters, 10 interviews so far