Should DO students even take Step 1 P/F for psych or peds

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DO_or_Die

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a 2nd yr DO student that is very on the fence about taking Step 1 p/f or not to match psychiatry (thinking of child psych) or peds. I know psych is getting very competitive. My plan originally was to just take USMLE Step 2 for a numerical score, but I'm unsure if residencies would auto screen me out by not taking Step 1? I know that in the past taking Step 1 has opened doors provided you did well, but how important would a P really be to residency directors? I worry that if I took it and failed, that would shut all the doors vs if I didn't take it step 1 I could maybe still match at a lower tiered residency with just COMLEX and Step 2. I have no indicators that makes me believe I would fail step 1, but is it really worth the gamble? Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

I am applying psych this year and I'm absolutely glad I took the USMLEs. You need to be confident you'll get a good score or at minimum not fail the USMLE for it to be worth it. I got an interview with an Ivy league institution somehow and my COMLEX scores are TERRIBLE but I have good USMLE scores. If I didn't have the USMLE, I don't think they'd have given my application a glance. You don't want to give any program an excuse to filter your application.

• Hmm
Reactions: 1 users
I am applying psych this year and I'm absolutely glad I took the USMLEs. You need to be confident you'll get a good score or at minimum not fail the USMLE for it to be worth it. I got an interview with an Ivy league institution somehow and my COMLEX scores are TERRIBLE but I have good USMLE scores. If I didn't have the USMLE, I don't think they'd have given my application a glance. You don't want to give any program an excuse to filter your application.