SGU vs University of Queensland for MD Program

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Remaddy

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I would like to ask for some advice on what I should do. I am a Canadian student that has been unsuccessful in applying to medical schools in Canada for the last couple of years due to a low MCAT score. While I wish to remain in Canada, I have also started looking into medical schools in other countries. What are your thoughts between attending medical school at the University of Queensland in Australia vs St. George University in the Caribbeans in terms of securing residency positions, doing well in the program to become a doctor, matching back into Canada (I know that this is extremely difficult), and other things I should be aware of.

I would appreciate any tips, advice, or really any other information about this. Thanks, everyone!

(Side note: In addition to SGU and QU for medicine, I've also considered re-applying to Canadian schools (though my chances in Canada are extremely low because of the MCAT) and applying to Canadian dentistry schools so that I could remain in Canada. I'm open to any comments about this as well. Thanks again!)

Members don't see this ad.

For the purpose of returning to the US or Canada, graduates from Australian schools are viewed more favorably.

University of Queensland - Ochsner in particular will help you return home with no problems. SGU doesn't even come close.

Definitely UQ over SGU. It has a much better reputation and overall has a better program/resources/connections. Lots of Canadians do decide to go to UQ and I know a lot of them do go back for residency.