Setting up 4th year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Misery to Okay

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
It's time for me to set up my 4th year rotations. At my school we have the freedom to set up the entirety of our 4th year rotations. I am currently a 3rd year DO student who has decided that if all I did for the rest of my life was well child visits and look into kids ears I would be satisfied. I love working with kids.

I am sure that I want to pursue pediatrics but I am also aware that my board scores are not competitive. I got a 15 percentile score in both my level 1 and step 1. I have passed my shelf exams so far. I did not honors pediatrics. The counselor at my school has told me that pediatrics is quite competitive these days and that I should be realistic and look into family medicine or do a research or transitional year. If all else failed, I would be okay with family medicine because I love procedures and I would still have a chance to work with kids, also I would have a chance to get paid more I suppose.

Since I was adamant about pediatrics, I was also given a suggestion to try to do as many audition rotations as I could to a residency that I would have a good chance at getting into. I have a bit of a handicap in the fact that I cannot move due to having pets and no family in the country. I might be able to squeeze 1 month in an away rotation with putting my pets in a pet hotel but that would the limit to my budget.

I would be happy to do any random rotation to fill the rest of my time in 4th year. Looking at the 2018 match, some people with my scores did in fact match into pediatrics. I have 3 letters so far (1 anesthesia, 2 pediatrics) and most likely a few more coming with my upcoming 3rd year rotations.