This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dmene1

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello!

I'm a recent B.S. graduate that's trying to look for work in a research lab in the interim of trying to get into a masters, then further on Med School. It took me about six years (an extra two years after I walked at commencement) to officially graduate because of financial issues and personal family issues but I have been applying to research lab positions throughout the time. Most if not all the positions I applied for were one that I fit the criteria for: didn't require the degree I now have (High School diploma and above was all that was asked), I knew how to do most of the lab procedures needed (Western/Southern blots, ELISA, gram staining, and a whole bunch of others), and though my solo lab career hasn't been extensive I was an intern for Diabetes research team in Portugal, in which I mostly operated independently. The only reason I haven't reached out to them again was because they are only really accepting interns in a 3 month rotation outside of their post-docs and I need a paid position with the amount of financial burdens I have now. Especially if I required to relocate (I live in Southern CT for reference, commutable to NYC which I've done a lot for work and school). So that has left me applying for positions via Indeed or university career sites themselves, with no success.