This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futureneuropathologist1

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am new on this forum and I don't know if this is the right thread to ask my question so please excuse me on this.

I am a recent physics graduate (bachelor's degree) and I am currently working. Next year I am planning to go an MSc in Medical Physics (because it is cheaper than pre-med school plus I am not yet ready for it, as I am not confident with my medical knowledge) and would only take that for a year until my family absorb me to go to the US to study pre-medicine (I am from Asia).

Now I am working full-time on an irrelevant job and would want to save up for my masters degree in medical physics next school year. I am looking currently on materials (like Basic biology, basic anatomy and physiology and medical physics and nuclear medicine physics, also org chem and biochem).

So now:
1. I need you pre-med students to advise me what courses to look up into to prepare my self. If possible, please specify what course you all take for basic pre-medicine.
2. Any tips and suggestions on how to manage my time on studying while working from 8am to 5pm weekdays? I am tired after work so I have not touched my materials yet!!
3. If you guys will be so kind, can you suggest books which I can use for basic anatomy and physiology and basic biology (already have Campbell Biology book though I have not read it yet).

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

You're way, way ahead of yourself.

Sounds like:
1. You want to live in the US but you currently live elsewhere.
2. You want to practice medicine in the US, eventually.

Becoming a doctor in the US requires:
1. completing "undergraduate" medical education, which in the US is 8 years (4 years to get a bachelors, 4 years to get an MD or DO), and in other countries is 6-9 years