selection

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pebbles

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have a question pertaining to medical school selection. I always hear about people who fill out 20-30 apps for different medical schools. Is it stupid for me to just fill out one? I want to go to University of Iowa for medical school. To give you some stats about me: I am working as a nurse on a nuero floor for the past one to one and a half years. Prior to that I worked as an assistant director of nurses for about a year. Overall I have worked for about four years as a nurse (that is LPN and RN combined.) I also work in a bioinformatics lab doing research. I am currently working really hard to publish a paper. My GPA is average, it is about a 3.6. I haven't taken the MCAT yet but have been reviewing and studying for the last three months. Also I am involved in some clubs, like a journal club and a pre-med club. What do ya think?

Members don't see this ad.

University of Iowa could look at you in 2 ways. 1st way:
1) You love their school and obviously really want to go there since that is the only school you applied to.
2) You are very confident.

The second way:
1) You make poor decisions since everyone knows that getting into med school can be a hit-or-miss deal and yet you're applying to just one school. How can you not have a backup plan?
2) You must be arrogant. If you apply to only one school, you must think that you are going to get into that school and admissions committees may perceive it not as confidence but as arrogance.

I think there are considerably more negatives to applying to just one school versus several. Why reduce your chances? You don't have to apply to 20 schools but apply to at least 5.

[This message has been edited by justwannabadoc (edited September 15, 1999).]

One answer: Early Decision