Seeking Security in Psychology; Counseling or School??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ZiggyAnalysis

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a very frustrated undergraduate senior who needs some serious advice. Its time to get apps for schools and Im tied between two fields for some complicated reasons and would like to know..

Putting personal preferences aside, which graduate path would you consider to be more lucrative or more in demand today between these two.. PhD in Counseling Psychology / School Psychology?

The reason I ask this is because while I am aware of the diff in the fields (i.e SP's more assessment, Counseling Psych more counseling.. ) I wanted to know overall job outlook.

I believe my heart is leaning more towards Counseling Psychology, but when I do research online it seems School Psychology/IO will offer more career opportunities and a better $$$ as I am already in loan debt and feel as a 1st generation college student, my parents expect me to get something secure, stable and at least decent paying so I can be of help to them someday. I know im not going to get rich in psych, but I want to be able to not struggle so hard to make a living. (In other words, I want to be in demand.)

My parents are already not pleased with my college major in psychology allready but they are more at ease when hearing School Psych "is in demand" "is a secure job" and pays well. If that were truly the case, I don' think I would mind going with School Psych and conducting assessments..

So I guess Im looking for validation in terms of what I've been reading and wonder could I still compromise by pursuing School Psych doctorate (and counsel adolescents and families), therefore putting myself in a better position later on?

Or is Counseling "secure enough" and since it is a general degree will allow me to do more? :cool:

This is just all so confusing...