Seeking advice on upcoming Ophtho match

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Rkasdf1234

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I’m a 3rd year medical student really interested in pursuing a career in Ophthalmology.
I wanted some thoughts on my realistic chances of matching and advice on what I can do to improve my chances, which places to do away rotations at/apply to.

Strong points:
- 3.94 GPA
- Clinical years so far: honors in IM, Surgery, FM, OB/GYN. High Sat: Peds
- 1 non-Ophtho oral presentation at my med school research forum, 1 ongoing Ophtho related research
- possible AOA

Negative points
- BIG one: step 1: 225, taking step 2 in June
- figured out I wanted to do ophtho late in 3rd year.

I'm at a mid-low tier Midwest medical school with a mid-tier Ophtho program. I want to be reasonable with my choices but I also just want to be an ophthalmologist. I'm wondering what my chances would be even if I blew step 2 out of the water. Thank you in advance for any input.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi!
I also recently just decided to do ophthalmology. I'm opposite of you. My step 1 score is 250, but my clinical grades aren't up to par. I won't be AOA. I have a pass in obgyn; high pass in IM, surgery, psych, FM; honors in anesthesia, neuro, and general ophthalmology. No ophtho publications or any pubs actually. I know couple of programs automatically filter out students based on step 1, but your step 2 can help. Also, what's the worst that can happen? I'm going into this knowing I will most likely not match (heck my advisor said I need to have a back-up residency) and will have to take a year off to strengthen my app. The question is do I go ahead and graduate in 2016 and then do fellowship research and reapply or do I postpone graduation and do research for a year and reapply as a US senior once I find out in Jan I didn't match? Thoughts on this would be appreciated!