Seeking advice. I am choosing between DVM or DPT.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sciencenerd10

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am currently an undergraduate senior and I am choosing between the fields of veterinarian medicine or physical therapy. For those who are current vet students or those who are licensed veterinarians, can you give me some advice? My biggest fear of going into the profession of vet medicine is having to euthanize an animal that I have the skills to help simply because someone wont pay for treatment. I have heard that this happens often which is a concern for me. Do you enjoy working in the field of vet medicine? Do you regret pursuing this field and wish you had chosen a different career path? Was this something you wanted to do your whole life? What are the biggest pros and cons to the field of veterinarian medicine?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I've provided plenty of info on my experience in the discussions that WTF linked to, but to specifically answer one of your questions...

My biggest fear of going into the profession of vet medicine is having to euthanize an animal that I have the skills to help simply because someone wont pay for treatment.

This will vary based on the location in which you practice and the local economics. I'm in a low-cost-of-living (ie. low-income) area and I would say that approximately 50% of the recommendations that I make are declined by the owners due to cost. This doesn't always result in euthanasia, but it is definitely a reality of our profession. Many of the euthanasias that I perform are "economic euthanasias" - where there are definitely things that could be done to potentially help the pet, but the owner can't afford it and without those diagnostics/treatments the pet will suffer.