Seeking advice from possible Forensic Pathologists or Pathologist's assistant

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Katrod19

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a sophomore in College. I do this thing where I obsess over what the future holds (lol). I have always been interested in forensic pathology and planned on attending med school to become on. However, I ran across something called a Pathologist Assistant. What are the differences between the two in terms of having time for a family, pay, and duties? (Do PA's do autopsies?)

Members don't see this ad.

I looked into Pathologist assistant like a year ago, but there aren't a lot of programs for those nationwide in the U.S. However, I think you will be able to become one if you get a bachelor's in Clinical Laboratory Science/Medical Technology.

They basically assist in preparing tissue samples needed for a variety of testing, ex: cytometry, microbiology culturing, etc. It's a pretty cool field though!

I'm currently a sophomore in College. I do this thing where I obsess over what the future holds (lol). I have always been interested in forensic pathology and planned on attending med school to become on. However, I ran across something called a Pathologist Assistant. What are the differences between the two in terms of having time for a family, pay, and duties? (Do PA's do autopsies?)
Path assistants generally don't do forensic work. Hell, most pathologists even have trouble getting forensic work these days do to government cutbacks, my state is struggling to perform necessary autopsies in a timely fashion because of it.