Securing an assistanceship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FutureDocJ

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
If they're willing to pay me for my education...

My question is this: What are the steps I should take to make myself THE perfect candidate for an assistanceship into a DPT program?

*I'm plugging away, part-time, at my grad work in exercise physiology. At the rate I'm moving I have about two years left. (If I could secure an assistanceship into the dpt program I'd jump on that immediately.)

*I hold a secondary ed teaching license and have a couple years of teaching experience

*I have a couple years experience as a strength and conditioning coach

*I'm working for a health club as a personal trainer (more than simple guided workouts, I'm developing comprehensive wellness plans)

*I'm developing general and specific wellness seminars, many of which will be conducted on a volunteer basis, free to the community

*I will be involved in community volunteer activities through the health club

*I will have at least one basic level ACSM certification by the end of the year and am studying and working my way toward their top cert (registered exercise physiologist)

*I plan to start clinical observation/shadowing/volunteer work (This is something I really could use some advice on.)

***Other advice?

Thanks in advance!!

Members don't see this ad.