second thoughts about vet school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

28dragons

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all! I am a first year vet student, in my second semester, and I'm having second thoughts about this path I'm on. It's a whole range of issues, but a big part of it is financial. I'm probably going to be over $140,000 in debt when I get out, and I hear it's getting harder and harder to find a job (eg. http://news.vin.com/VINNews.aspx?articleId=18590). I did some cursory job searches on indeed.com for veterinary positions in New York, NY and found very little, too; if I were out looking for a job right now it would probably be extremely difficult, and it feels like it'll only get worse when I graduate in 2015 - more and more new vets are coming out every year.

And I'm reading all these client horror stories on Vets Behaving Badly (http://vetsbehavingbadly.blogspot.com/) making me think twice about small animal medicine, heh. I know that not all clients are as awful as the ones portrayed here, but it's making me wonder if it's worth it to work so hard and be valued so little, and have so little earning power. I'm not sure if I'll be happy.

I have thought about dropping out; as I have four months left I'm just going to finish the semester, but I have been thinking about leaving for a while. I've been miserable in school. The workload is tremendous; it's all book learning right now, and gross anatomy labs. I do like the actual physical work with the animals, but otherwise I'm feeling really burned out. I don't know what I would do if I left, though; I was thinking about human dentistry, as it was one of my interests in undergrad but veterinary medicine interested me more at the time. Now I am here, and I'm very uncertain.