SDN Article: 20 Questions: LTJG Aaron Chambers, DPM, FACFAS

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
C

Chivas Owle

The Student Doctor Network publishes articles weekly. Check out this article or other podiatry articles at Student Doctor Network.

SDN had the opportunity to speak to Aaron Chambers about his journey as a podiatrist and service in the US Navy and Public Health Service Ready Reserve Corps.

Please introduce yourself and tell us about yourself and your professional journey.

Aaron Chambers: I’m LTJG Aaron Chambers, DPM, FACFAS. I’m currently an officer in the United States Public Health Service Ready Reserve Corps and am a former officer in the United States Navy. I earned my bachelor’s degree in biology at the University of Missouri and then earned my DPM degree at Western University of Health Sciences. Afterward, I completed my surgical residency at the Loma Linda Veterans Affairs Healthcare Systems and traveled the country as a uniformed service podiatrist. I am currently board-certified in Podiatric Medicine, Foot Surgery, and Reconstructive Rearfoot and Ankle Surgery.

When did you first decide to become a podiatrist? Why?

This is the most common question I am asked on a daily basis, but I’ve yet to settle on an exact moment when I decided on podiatry. I’ve always known I wanted to go into the health sciences field but was unsure about which profession. When I initially began my undergraduate degree, I chose biology in order to give myself the most options after graduation.

After working several laboratory jobs where I was stuck in a basement, I knew to narrow the list down to professions that had a lot of personal interaction. For me, a job was not only one where I could do work that helped others but also have the satisfaction of having a personal connection with patients. After shadowing several professions, I met several podiatrists and fell in love with the profession.