School Reputation and Chance of Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

michelle_is_me

Accepted Pharmacy Student
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys:

I am still a pre-pharm student, doing the interview rounds and picking schools (and being picked by schools) right now. My main interest right now would be community pharmacy when I grad, however, I am planning to do a residency somewhere down the line after a few years of working in a community pharmacy.

I am just wondering if a school's reputation has anything to do with the success of getting picked for a residency spot? Would I benefit by going to a more well-established school rather than a brand new school that has yet to graduate any students?

Thanks very much,

Michelle

Members don't see this ad.

There are so many variables into getting a residency. Some places don't care about your GPA as long as your meet the minimum, and some place a great emphasis on it.

Do anyone know what industry fellowship programs look for in their applicants? (aside from their research experience, of course)

Members don't see this ad :)
I am still a pre-pharm student, doing the interview rounds and picking schools (and being picked by schools) right now. My main interest right now would be community pharmacy when I grad, however, I am planning to do a residency somewhere down the line after a few years of working in a community pharmacy.

I am just wondering if a school's reputation has anything to do with the success of getting picked for a residency spot? Would I benefit by going to a more well-established school rather than a brand new school that has yet to graduate any students?