MD & DO School list help/ WAMC MD v DO. 511/ 3.46 cGPA, Lots of experience

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

futuredrnick

Reaction score
  1. I graduated with a BS in 2016. My undergrad institution is a top 35, jesuit university. I was a Biochemistry major, Economics minor, and a member of the Arts and Sciences Honors Program.
  2. My cGPA and sGPA havent been calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS yet but I think my cGPA is ~3.46 and my sGPA is ~3.18 . My undergrad cGPA was a 3.40 and my undergrad sGPA was a 3.05. My yearly cGPAs were 3.33, 3.22, 3.32, 3.70. My final three semesters, my cGPAs were 3.510, 3.480, and finally 3.934, showing an upward trend.
  3. My post-bacc GPA is a 4.0 where I took 2 classes at a different 4yr university. I took Microbiology and retook Orgo II (I recieved a C the first time). I also had 3 As from High School classes that count for credit
  4. MCAT score: 511 (128/127/129/127)
  5. State of residence: New York. but very connected w massachusetts
  6. White male
  7. Clinical experience: Medical assistant in the orthopedic surgery department of a well known hospital since graduating ~2 years ago (3800 hours), Transitional Care unit volunteer (100 hours), Medical service trip volunteer (250 hours)
  8. Research experience: Senior year, I was a member of a twelve-student, advanced laboratory course and at the end of the semester we delivered a poster presentation at the undergrad research day (125 hours) Currently interviewing for a clinical research assistant position for this upcoming year until (hopeful) matriculation.
  9. Shadowing experience: (100 hours) in addition to my observations in the ortho clinic as a medical assistant. 3 ortho surgeries, a pain medicine MD, an infectious disease DO, and a podiatrist. (Will be looking to shadow more including primary care this summer/ upcoming year.)