School is H/P/F, so does rank really not matter as long as ur top 1/3?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

zeebbie

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I go to a competitive dental school -- grading is H/P/F. I am in my first year and I am just barely getting honors in all my classes.

I am working hard enough to accomplish this and no harder. I am probably in the top third of my class.

Now I didn't say this to brag but I really want to know if I should go all out and do my best, like try be valedictorian. Or should I just be chill and be in top 1/3 of my class.

Does it matter? Cuz my school doesn't release the rank. They award special prizes to the top 10% at the end of 1st year and then they give a big award to the top student at the end of 3rd year -- but that is all. If you're between the top 11% - 33%, no special recognition for you!

I want to be competitive for all the specialties like ortho, whatever, keep all my doors open. Should I be a gunner? I have it within me. But I lately, I don't see the point...

I am going through some hard times right now. For those of you in ortho, endo, the competitive stuff.... please tell me what to do. This is a really big deal b/c getting honors in everything only requires like 60% of the work that it would take me to try and be top 5%.

Is it worth it? Does it really matter? If it is worth, then I will work harder.

Why not try for the best, rest will work out on its own.