Saturation crisis solution?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Disclaimer: I'm not an expert and this is more of a question than than an answer.

What would happen if for one year all pharmacy schools were not allowed to admit any new students? I dont know if that's been thought of or if it's even feasible but when I was in the military if certain career fields were over manned then the number trained for those jobs decreased vice versa. Just my uneducated thought.

Members don't see this ad.

try a whole decade

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
It will take around 30 years for the market to equilibrate if schools stopped accepting students today indefinitely. This is because for the next 4 years there will be 15,000 new grads (current P1-P4s) entering the market each year to 1,500 new jobs/year and dropping (90% unemployment rate per year). Then you add on all the recent grads and residency-trained grads who haven’t found a job for the last 5 years and add in all the current underemployed pharmacists (floaters, part times, per diems at retail chains and hospitals who are fighting for more hours/full time positions) and it’s easy to see that without even graduating more students there is plenty of demand for jobs/hours from the current existing pool of licensed pharmacists. The bottom line is that this profession is already at a point of no return and honestly at this rate in about 3-5 years’ time I can see your average joe pharmacist grad doing MTM consults for about $15-20/hr which is going to be the going rate for pharmacists.

Reactions: 1 users
Disclaimer: I'm not an expert and this is more of a question than than an answer.