Sanjay Gupta talks DNR on Colbert Report

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Prof Moriarty

the Napoleon of Spine
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was in the Colbert Report studio audience yesterday and Sanjay Gupta was a guest. During the taping, Dr Gupta made a couple of (what I thought were) sketchy sound-bite remarks:

1) Patients w/ DNR's get worse care than those without them.

2) Lots of nursing home patients in persistent vegetative states eventually come out of the persistent vegetative state and live normal lives.

I'm paraphrasing, but that was the gist of what he said.

I'm on a palliative care medicine rotation right now and I couldn't help cringing as he made those remarks. I'm just a student, but especially with regard to the DNR comment, this is directly contrary to what I'm being taught and what I'm witnessing on a daily basis.

Fortunately, they edited this comment out of the show that aired, but Dr Gupta looks like he's promoting a book, so I wonder if that soundbite will be repeated and eventually reach a wider audience.

Members don't see this ad.

First of all - jealous you saw Colbert!

Secondly, I have not read his book - so I cannot assess his position completely. However, I can assess him based on the soundbites that will be reaching most people.

I heard Sanjay Gupta on NPR - also promoting his book and talking about "persistent vegetative states." Basically, he was saying that our current concept of brain death/death is inaccurate and we are often making the wrong diagnosis.

He went on to discuss a few anecdotes of individuals' miraculous recoveries from various conditions - hypothermia to other vegetative states.