Sample Personal Statements

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sgv

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I knew there was a website that gave away free personal statements. I found it but the links didn't work. I had use the waybackmachine

http://predds.net/personal-statement-guide/

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
As I graduated from high school into adulthood eleven long years ago, I had no idea that I would one day apply for dental school. There are actually very few things that I have done since high school that I would have foreseen when I was handed my diploma. Yet, looking back on the past few years, I can imagine no journey that could be as exciting, fulfilling, and beneficial to my potential career as dentist as the experiences that have made me who I am today.

My time at Ball State University as a music composition major was split between writing music, playing bassoon in a number of musical ensembles, and pursuing a variety of other academic interests. I spent many hours every week in ensemble rehearsals and personal practice on top of the time given to composing and coursework. In addition, I had to make my own bassoon reeds in order to play. I devoted several hours every week to the shaping and carving of these small, delicate reeds from raw pieces of cane.

Despite the amount of work I put into music, I was never sure that I wanted to make a career out of playing bassoon and writing music. My interest in people and human interactions led me to take several anthropology courses, and then to accept a graduate position teaching music history at Ball State after graduating. From the first week of class I knew that whatever I did in the future, it had to involve working with and helping other people. At the same time my girlfriend and future wife was encouraging me to apply for an English-teaching position in Japan through the JET Program.