Salary of orthodontists

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Anondds87

Reaction score
Hey guys, just wanting to find out what the salary range of orthodontists are.

As a general dentist I thought "well orthodontists must make a killing, if they get 40% of billings and braces cost $6000 it must be way easier to make money than general dentistry"

Since then I've spoken to some ppl and found that orthodontist associates get paid a daily rate rather than commission, and that daily rate isnt too far off what general dentists make (about 1000-1200 a day).

So weighing up the benefits of 3 years of tuition and lost income to essentially make the same as a GP.

Can anyone shed some light on this issue?

Members don't see this ad.

General dentists in NYC generally make 500-600 a day, not 1000-1200 which is what an orthodontist gets.

Reactions: 1 users
I'd be a very rich person by now, if I could charge $6k a case. The problem is there are not enough high income parents in the area where I practice, who can afford to pay that much for their kids' ortho tx. If I charged that much, I would be sitting around doing nothing all day long because none of the patients would accept the tx. And for the patients who can afford such high $6k fee, they'd rather go see an orthodontist, who speaks better English, who has better people skills, who has high tech equipments in the office etc....instead of seeing me.

I'd rather see 60-80 low income patients a day and get paid less per case than sitting around making nothing......and still have to pay the bills. It's still an easy job since the assistants do most of the manual labor for me. And this is the key difference between ortho and GP: for a general dentist to get paid, he/she (and not the assistant) has to sit down to perform the procedure.