RVU goals and expectations

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ecmoelmo

Reaction score
Hi all, I'm on the trail for PCCM jobs and was offered an academic position in a large coastal metroplex. They quoted a wRVU goal of 6200 with a bonus of $30 per wRVU over that. I'm new to billing side of things. How attainable or "busy" is the RVU goal and is this typically attached on all academic or PP jobs?

Members don't see this ad.

You will need to provide more specifics before anyone can tell you whether that is an attainable goal.

What is the mix of ICU vs pulm (how many weeks of critical care vs inpt pulm vs outpt pulm)?
Are some of your shifts nights? (much less billing at night generally)
How many beds will you cover per ICU shift?
How many outpatient clinics will you have per week?

Just ask your potential employer,
a) are there other docs on your same schedule in terms of total shifts, etc?
and b) if so, what have they averaged over the past few years in terms of wRVU over goal

If the employer is not willing to give you that information, look elsewhere for work.

I personally have an academic job with a fixed salary linked to an expected wRVU target (calculated according to each individual's split of inpatient vs outpatient vs research, etc). We then get a bonus for wRVU over target. No one in my group has ever not met their target.

Hi all, I'm on the trail for PCCM jobs and was offered an academic position in a large coastal metroplex. They quoted a wRVU goal of 6200 with a bonus of $30 per wRVU over that. I'm new to billing side of things. How attainable or "busy" is the RVU goal and is this typically attached on all academic or PP jobs?
Overall it is likely not a great offer but for a metroplex it may be.