Roth IRA or pay down student loan debt?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ranmyaku

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
In the long run, which of these options would be a better idea. I am a 1st year resident living as frugally as possible. I have extra money each month to invest in a Roth IRA or I can pay down student loan debt. Right now I am doing a little of both; however, I am not sure if I should just be maxing out on one or the other.

Med school loans are approximately (in forbearance):
~ 50k @ 4.75%
~ 150k @ 6.8%

Any advice?

Members don't see this ad.

In the long run, which of these options would be a better idea. I am a 1st year resident living as frugally as possible. I have extra money each month to invest in a Roth IRA or I can pay down student loan debt. Right now I am doing a little of both; however, I am not sure if I should just be maxing out on one or the other.

Med school loans are approximately (in forbearance):
~ 50k @ 4.75%
~ 150k @ 6.8%

Any advice?

I'd probably pay down the debt. As well as being the equivalent of a guaranteed 6.8% ROI, there are benefits to having low debt (like being able to get a larger mortgage later) that aren't compensated for by having a large IRA.

Probably Suze Ormann has answered this one somewhere and has the numbers to back it up....

I'd probably pay down the debt. As well as being the equivalent of a guaranteed 6.8% ROI, there are benefits to having low debt (like being able to get a larger mortgage later) that aren't compensated for by having a large IRA.

Probably Suze Ormann has answered this one somewhere and has the numbers to back it up....