RN vs PA Confussion/Dilemma

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ERLover

Membership Revoked
Removed
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Guys, first of all I want to say Hi since this is my first post, even though I have been reading the forums for awhile. I am finding myself in a big dilemma right now. I will be finishing up my B.S. in Health Science the next semester and along with my B.S. I will also have student loans debt and overall financial stress that I have carried for the past years. I have been looking at some accelerated BSN programs and some PA programs. I have all the pre-reqs to enter nursing school but one, which I can take this coming semester; for PA school I would need 4 pre-reqs plus an accumulation of 1500-2000 clinical experience to do before applying, meaning time consumption. I can see myself working either as a PA or Nurse, currently I work as an E.R. tech and I love working there. If I decide to do nursing, I want to do PA later after my loans are paid and have some financial freedom. I simply dont know what to do, I know these is souding like a money issue, but its really not although its imperative. A lot of people have told me, even some PAs that currently in the state of CA and most of the nation BSN grads are making more than what a PA makes when they graduate. Here where I live the average RN grad is making 28-34 hr. Getting the BSN would be the fastest route to start making money and have that stress free life I need, what would you do if you were in my situation? What are the differences in salary currently for RNs and PAs as new grads?

Sincerely,

Jorge

Members don't see this ad.

rn and pa are very different jobs. shadow both to get a better idea of what both do.
for pa info check out www.physicianassistant.net ( a pa specific discussion forum) and www.aapa.org
for rn info check out www.allnurses.com