RN Trying to decide whats next...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RNtoMDDO

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I am needing some advice on which path I should take next. I will be starting my last semester of nursing school in January and I am unsure of where I should go/what I want to do next. Prior to attending my ADN program, I completed my Bachelor's Degree in Healthcare Administration and ended with a 3.3 cGPA. While I realize that my GPA is less than stellar, I can't seem to shake the idea of working towards medical school.

The only prerequisite that I have taken is Chem I, and that was almost 7+ years ago. I want to start from the beginning with the very basic intro courses in Biology and Chemistry and work my way up. After graduating in may with my RN, do you think it is necessary for me to get my BSN, or should I just start working on the pre-requisites for medical school since I already have a bachelor's degree. Is medical school even a possibility for me being that my GPA is already so low? I did really well my first semester of college (back in 2008) but then got way off track (with partying/social life) and my GPA took a turn for the worst. I have been an A-B student since 2012 and plan to take my time with my pre-requisites while working as a nurse.