Returning to School for Physical Therapy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doug081979

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm sure there have been a lot of posts about this already. But I'm considering returning to school to take the prerequisites for Physical Therapy. However, I'm 34 and my background is in computer science so I obviously don't have any of the required science classes.

I'm also working as a software engineer and I don't find it satisfying at all. So I'll need to take the prerequisites in the evening after work. So I'm wondering if it would be worth it to pursue this? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm sure there have been a lot of posts about this already. But I'm considering returning to school to take the prerequisites for Physical Therapy. However, I'm 34 and my background is in computer science so I obviously don't have any of the required science classes.

I'm also working as a software engineer and I don't find it satisfying at all. So I'll need to take the prerequisites in the evening after work. So I'm wondering if it would be worth it to pursue this? Thanks!

anything that makes you a happier person and improves YOU is always worth it brah

question do you have kids and family? because youll have to really focus on this

No, I don't have a family. It will definitely will be a lot of work seeing that I'll be working while completing the prereq's.

Members don't see this ad :)
You and I are in very similar situations! I am 32 with an IT background (Management Information Systems). I have been working as a DBA for the past 10 years, and two years ago, I started taking night classes to fill my PT prereqs (I didn't take any science classes while obtaining my undergrad degree).