Retrospective Study Guidance

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chrism611

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I hope that someone may be able to give me a little bit of advice on this topic, and I hope I am able to give enough information so that you can.

First off about me. I am a Junior nursing student and want to go into medicine. I have worked in the ED for six years and have a passion for emergency electrocardiography. I have, unfortunately, never had a research course and do not know much about research, other than what I have read.

I am looking to do a retrospective study on an EKG change that a few case studies have noted to be significant for a specific coronary artery occlusion. I have also seen patient's with the EKG change personally that have had such findings.

I plan to look at EKGs of patients who presented to the ED over a time period. Exclude those with EKG changes that can interfere with the significance of this finding. Then I will look up those with the positive finding and evaluate what was found diagnostically through heart caths. The study will be conducted in a single facility.

So my first question concerns exclusion factors. Am I correct by planning to exclude patients who had the EKG change but were not admitted or had no diagnostic testing to test for coronary artery occlusion?

My next question concerns the evaluation of data. I plan to use chi-square test or Pearson's, depending on what size of population to evaluate the null hypothesis of: The EKG change is not associated with coronary artery occlusion.
This is where I get confused, because I'm not sure if this is the right method to use, or is there something else that would be better?