Retracting

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

goooooober

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have often heard that med students are sometimes used for retracting in the OR and that it sucks. What is retracting exactly and why is it so difficult? At what stage and until what stage is a med student suppose to do this before given more interesting tasks in the OR?

Members don't see this ad.

As a med student all I used to do in the OR was retract (using an instrument to push/pull tissue out of the way so that the surgeon can operate and have a good field) and cut sutures. Then I graduated to throwing in a few sutures every so often, and finally, in my fourth year on a general surgery subinternship, I did an excision of a back lipoma with scalpel, bovie, and all that stuff.

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by goooooober
I have often heard that med students are sometimes used for retracting in the OR and that it sucks. What is retracting exactly and why is it so difficult? At what stage and until what stage is a med student suppose to do this before given more interesting tasks in the OR?

Hi there,
The main job of a third-year medical student in the OR is to retract or "water ski" so that the surgeon can get good visualization of the operative field. Your other job is not not block the surgeon's visual field especially when the surgeon is wearing loupes. Try not to contaminate things but if you do, admit it and correct the situation. All of us have contaminated something as we were learning to work around sterile fields.

Other typical medical student jobs are camera driving on the laparoscopic cases. I can't tell you the value of a good camera driver.