Retirement account possibilities with residency / moonlighting

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nsd2015

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a PGY-3 EM resident (married to another resident) and we will both have made $53k in 2017 as employees, and I have $40k in 2017 moonlighting 1099 income (total $146k). We are very fortunate to have refinanced both of our school loans to the 4% range (thanks WCI), so would like to max out retirement accounts as much as possible as our next financial goal. We are not big spenders and rent an apartment, so we have ~$60k in cash.

We've placed $5,500 into my Vanguard Roth IRA, $5,500 into her Roth IRA, $3,350 into my HSA, and I have $3,704 contributed for the year as a standard payroll contribution in my academic institution's 457 plan.

My question is where should I put any additional cash: a Roth 401k? Can I open one even though I already have those other plans? If so, could I put a full 18,000 in it or does my 3,704 in the 457 plan count toward that total? Is there another type of account I should open instead? Or should I place this all into a taxable Vanguard account?

Thanks for any advice (and all the great info on this forum)!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm a PGY-3 EM resident (married to another resident) and we will both have made $53k in 2017 as employees, and I have $40k in 2017 moonlighting 1099 income (total $146k). We are very fortunate to have refinanced both of our school loans to the 4% range (thanks WCI), so would like to max out retirement accounts as much as possible as our next financial goal. We are not big spenders and rent an apartment, so we have ~$60k in cash.

We've placed $5,500 into my Vanguard Roth IRA, $5,500 into her Roth IRA, $3,350 into my HSA, and I have $3,704 contributed for the year as a standard payroll contribution in my academic institution's 457 plan.